Ottawa ballroom dancing

I’m originally from England, United Kingdom but got relocated for work in Ottawa, Canada some eight years ago. I used to think before that ballroom dancing is only for the old people and that it is but one of those social activities that are for recreational purposes only. However, due to its entertainment aspects, the said dance is now enjoyed and done socially and even competitively around the globe. Ballroom dancing nowadays continues to be a main social event for seniors and is also growing as a pastime for young men and women as well. Further, ballroom dance is enjoyed on stage plays, films and television as well.

So what exactly is ballroom dancing? The dancing usually refers to a set of dancing partners. It is said that there are more or less around twelve types of ballroom dancing. These are the Cha Cha, Foxtrot, Jive, Linda Hop, Paso Doble, Mambo, Rumba, Samba, Quick Step, Tango, Viennese Waltz and Waltz.

It is here in Ottawa where I first discovered my interest and love for this dance. One day, a friendly neighbour of mine invited me and my wife to join them in their Latin and Ballroom Dance School. I was sceptical at first since I’m not really good at dancing. Being a beginner that time, I was advised to take lessons on Foxtrot since it is lots of fun and easy to learn, which makes it an excellent dance for beginners like me. Aside from the Waltz, Foxtrot is also a smooth dance since the dancers do flowing movements across the floor.

Since then, Ottawa ballroom dancing became one of my favourite pastimes and recreational activities to keep me fit. Aside from the Foxtrot, I also tried Quickstep, which is a quick version of the Foxtrot. Although it is exciting to watch, the Quickstep is considered as one of the most difficult among all of the ballroom dances. I also personally love Tango, which I think is the most fascinating among all the said dances.

And who haven’t heard of Samba? It is possibly the most popular of all ballroom dances, which originated in Brazil. This dance is very popular with young people as well as older generations. Although ballroom dancing is typically done with partners, the Samba can be performed either solo or with a partner.

Aside from being a beautiful form of art, ballroom dancing encourages social interactions between dance partners. It also provides avenue for both men and women to gather together, develop good communication skills and friendship as well. I can honestly say that I was in Ottawa ballroom dancing when me and my wife met some of the greatest people in the world, whom all became our friends up to now.

I personally encourage people to try ballroom dancing. Learning how to ballroom dance may not only to be an excellent form of recreation and exercise, but it may also give you the chance to meet great people and friends. And If you’re lucky enough, you might even meet your mate through it. Happy dancing everyone! 🙂

About ballroomdancingottawa

English born Canadian... Ballroom dancing fanatic... Traveller... Husband... Dad...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

